Gluten-Free Beer – or is it?

I was a little disturbed to read the following article:

Some Gluten-Free Beers Really Aren’t

Basically, it says that independent testing showed that some beers labeled gluten-free actually contain gluten. And some beers labeled as low-gluten actually contain as much as regular beer.

(Seriously, no one is really drinking “low-gluten” beers and thinking they are okay for celiacs, right?)

But what was really disturbing is that not only do some gluten-free beers still contain gluten, but that the study didn’t name them!

Come on!  We need this information!

So basically it comes down to this: trust your gut. If a food product is labeled gluten-free, proceed with caution. If you have a reaction to it, DON’T CONTINUE EATING IT JUST BECAUSE IT SAYS IT’S GLUTEN-FREE. Yeah, companies make mistakes, mislabel things, and (rarely) commit outright fraud. But your gut knows.

If your gut says it’s bad… Don’t eat it!

About Li

A writer, runner, and Gluten-Free Zealot, I’ve been helping others navigate the gluten-free lifestyle for many years. Life is meant to be enjoyed, and when you’re gluten-free, it’s even better!

This entry was posted in gluten-free, noteworthy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *